Going Ungracefully

I'll be the old lady in the tight, purple skirt

WiW 03/13/10

03/13/10
Saturday

Today was warm enough to venture out in sandals, so I decided to try something entirely new and different. I have these cool ankle-tie wedge sandals, and I thought that if I tuck my skinny jeans into boots, might I be able to “tuck” the skinny jeans into the lace-up?

I thought it looked wicked cool when I was staring down at my feet from my chair, but I’m not as sure when I saw the whole look in a photo. I can’t decide whether I like it.

I do like to do things that are on the edge, but sometimes I fall right off the edge!

Here’s the whole outfit:

March 13, 2010 Posted by | WiW | | 2 Comments

WiW 03/12/10

03/12/10
Friday

They canceled Casual Fridays!

It’s official: No Casual Fridays at my office. See below for the more on that fiasco!

I’m wearing pantyhose with this outfit. I love patterned stockings and tights but I hate wearing regular pantyhose. I don’t find them uncomfortable but I don’t feel like they add anything to the way I look and almost no matter how sheer they are, I feel like I look like I’m wearing pantyhose, which causes me to have flashbacks to the 1980’s.

I remember how my friends and I would buy pantyhose in a darker color to make our legs look tanned. We’d wear them with white high-heeled sandals and thought we looke oh-so-riche and sophisticated. Really, we looked ridiculous with our orange-colored legs and too-mature shoes. ugh!

Forgive me if I don’t list each item. I don’t have the energy to remember the details.

I work in a fairly formal office. When I first started working there I did not dress any differently on Fridays than on any other day. Gradually, though, I noticed that more and more people were wearing jeans on Fridays. I work next to the HR and recruiting department and I saw that all of them were wearing jeans every Friday. I figured that it must be OK if they were doing it, so I started tentatively following suit. I always made sure that the only “casual” thing about my outfit was that my lower half had denim. I still wore boots or high heels, a nice blouse, etc. No one ever even looked askance at me.

About a week ago we received a memo saying that we would move to a casual Friday model, and that jeans and “athletic shoes” would be permitted on Fridays. This indicated to me that I (and many, many other people in our building) had been violating the company dress code all along! We were also informed that if we had to meet clients or attend meetings in our building next door (same company, different division), we would have to adhere to the usual (formal) business causual dress code.

Thursday we received another memo informing us that our two buildings, though different divisions, are part of one company and that we are all one team. Unless or until they approve a casual Friday model, neither will we and that we were to dress according to our business casual guidelines five days a week. Period.

Boo. Now we can’t even do it quietly, the way we had before. I told my boss that my jeans cost twice as much as any of my other pants, that they are nicer and more formal than the elastic-waisted, cheapo, hit-at-the-ankle slacks I see some women wearing and dared him to do something about it if I come in in jeans. He turned bright red and started to stammer. I love to torment that man! He had nothing to do with deciding on the dress code.

March 13, 2010 Posted by | Musings, WiW | | 1 Comment

WiW 03/11/10

03/11/10
Thursday

I’m calling this look “Bombshell Butch” because it’s fairly fitted but I felt very butch in it. I think I even walked with a bit of a swagger. I don’t think this is a high fashion outfit, but it feels very different from what I normally wear and I like that.


Shoes: Brown/Black, MaddenGirl, TJ Maxx
Socks: Brown, stolen from boyfriend’s dress socks – shhhh!
Pants: Brown, Poleci, TJ Maxx
Blouse: Red, Ricola, Ross
Jacket: Brown, Larry Levine, TJ Max
Belt: Brown, Wal-Mart
Necklace: A good memory of an ex-husband

March 13, 2010 Posted by | WiW | | Leave a comment