Going Ungracefully

I'll be the old lady in the tight, purple skirt

WiW 02/23/10

02/23/10
Tuesday

I tried something today that I have NEVER tried before: I wore flat shoes with a dress. This is way, way, way out of my comfort zone.

Even though I am at times a rather flamboyant person, I have a lot of really rigid rules for myself. I’ve been trying to break those rules one by one and not wearing high heels with a dress is a big one for me.

The closest I’d come before this was the day I tried pairing my Harley biker boots with a black and white skirt. I felt so edgy and naughty that day!

This was different. Today I was still going for a work-appropriate look and I felt sort of uncomfortable wearing these shoes with this outfit. It does get tiresome to wear high heels all the time, so this is a look I’d like to continue to explore.

I need honesty here: Did this work? If not, what would you suggest as an alternative?

Click for a bigger version

Shoes: patent black/brown mary janes, Kenneth Cole Reaction, TJ Maxx
Tights: black checkered, Walmart
Dress: Black, Moda, thrifted
Sweater: Pink cotton, part of a set, unknown brand, thrifted
Belt: White skinny, Target
Peals: Thank you Nana. I remember you every time I wear them, which is often!

These are the tights, since you can’t really see the pattern in the outfit pictures. Obviously, these aren’t the shoes I was wearing today!

Click for a bigger version

February 25, 2010 - Posted by | WiW |

1 Comment »

  1. I so know how you feel on this one. I try flats with skirts and dresses and it just doesn’t look right to me, but then when other people do it, it looks great! On you, I think it works, but my instinct would be heels. Oh, and I loved the boots with the skirt! Isn’t it funny how stuff like that can make you feel a little rebelious?

    Comment by natalieckennedy | February 25, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

