Going Ungracefully

I'll be the old lady in the tight, purple skirt

WiW 02/17/10

02/17/10
Wednesday

I’m doing a presentation today for about 50 people. I want to look sharp but don’t want to wear something very bright or distracting as the focus should be on the PowerPoint presentation. Inspired by AJ from ylf, I’ve come up with this:

Click on the picture to see a bigger version

You’ll definitely have to click to see the details here. It’s a Diane Von Furstenberg wrap dress. Yah – I’m wearing only one shoe. I promise I’ll be wearing two tomorrow. I’m thinking about wearing self-colored micro fishnets with this, but I’ll make the final decision when I’m actually getting dressed.

I’m sorry about the dirty mirror. The dress is solid black and doesn’t have toothpaste marks on it!

I used a safety pin to keep the scarf in place and then disguised the safety pin with an earring.

Boots: $1 wonders
Dress: DVF black wrap dress
Scarf: Thrifted somewhere
Earring: Oh, it has a history, but I’m not gonna tell it right now

I hope my bloatiness is diminished. It’s certainly better than it was on the weekend!

February 16, 2010 - Posted by | WiW |

2 Comments »

  1. I think your use of a safety pin and then an earring as a brooch is just brilliant! Man, the stuff you can learn from visiting other people’s blogs!

    Comment by natalieckennedy | February 22, 2010 | Reply

    • Honestly, I don’t even know what made me think of it! I was wishing I had a brooch of some sort but just didn’t. I was digging around in my jewelry drawer and when my eye fell on that earring inspiration struck!

      I have been able to expand the way I use my existing wardrobe so much since I started reading ylf and checking other people’s WiW (What I Wore) blogs. I’ve added just a relatively few great pieces and it’s amazing how creative I can get with what I already have!

      Comment by Going Ungracefully | February 22, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

