Going Ungracefully

I'll be the old lady in the tight, purple skirt

WiW 12/21-24/09

I’m really tall – more than 175cm (5’9″). I feel like I look shorter and wider in all of the pictures than what I am.  My legs are pretty long, yet they look sort of stunted in many of the photos as well. I must be getting the camera angle wrong. I need help with that!

I forgot to take a picture of my 12/22 outfit. Sigh.

12/21/09
Monday

WiW 12/21/09

WiW 12/21/09

Click on picture to see a larger version

I like this outfit a lot.

Shooties: TJ Maxx
Tights: Wal-Mart, brown chevron pattern
Skirt: from Jones New York suit
Sweater set: Thrifted, pink knit, pearl buttons
Belt: Thrifted scarf
Jewelry: Most of my jewelry has sentimental meaning for me. Bracelet is a pearl necklace inherited from my grandmother, necklace was purchased while travelling in the Caribbean.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

12/23/09
Wednesday

WiW 12/23/09

Click on pictures to see a larger version

The knit top is a funky item I picked up at TJ Maxx a while back. It zips up and is sort of sparkly along the zipper line, with little rhinestones on it and the zipper pull. The skirt is one of my favorite consignment store finds. It’s a bit of an orphan at the moment because I don’t have many bloused I can wear with it.

Black Harley Boots

Black Harley Boots

My Harley boots! I’d tried them on in the store and decided not to buy them because I just didn’t want to spend the $145 that month. Two weeks later my boyfriend and I took the motorcyle (pulled in a trailer behind the truck) up to the mountains along the border of North Carolina and Tennesse to a motorcycle rally, and I expected I’d wear my ugly old hiking boots.

While we were on the way, we stopped at a gas station and he asked me to go inside to get him a soda. When I came back, the boots were on my seat! He’d bought them for me because he knew how much I wanted them. He’s so good to me!! I adore them and can’t stop wearing them.

I would normally never ever wear boots like that with a skirt, but I decided to make a huge, giant leap out of my comfort zone with this look. I don’t know whether it really works or not, but it was fun to try!

The bracelet is a fun little $4 thing from Charlotte Russe. I’ve just discovered this store thanks to the The Budget Babe. In the background is my boyfriend’s beautiful Great Pyrenees.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

12/24/09

Thursday

WiW 12/24/09

Wiw 12/24/09

Click on picture to see a larger version

Breakfast, Target, supermarket – my super-casual outfit for today. This isn’t fancy and isn’t the way I would normally dress, but I feel really good in this – I feel tough! I love those darn Harley boots like nobody’s business. I find every excuse in the world to wear them. Now that it’s too cold for me to ride the motorcycle (I’m not one of the hard-core year-round riders!), I need to find other reasons to wear the boots.

p.s. – just so there is no misunderstanding – I love to ride, but I’m a passenger only! I have no desire to be the one in control of the bike.

Since I have begun reading YLF I have realized that I don’t own a single pair of pants that are the “right” length. It’s freaking me out and making me feel self-conscious, which is silly because I’d been perfectly confident wearing them before.

My 18-year-old son said to me the other night, “But Mom, why would you let some people on the Internet tell you how long your pants should be?

I had to stop and think about that. It’s actually a pretty deep question. Who decides what’s fashionable and what’s not? Who decided how long pants should be? I often struggle with my own obsession with the physical and material.

I don’t have any answers at all. I really, really don’t. For now, I just know that the impression I make on others is important to me, and “looking good,” whatever that entails, is important to me.

And it means I need to buy longer pants.

Boots: Black Harley
Jeans: Love these funky embroidered jeans. I bought them from some little shop out in rural area when I lived in the Caribbean. Who’d have thunk it?
Shirts: both from TJ Maxx
Not pictured: a red scarf that I wore in the Euro knot style

December 24, 2009 - Posted by | WiW |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

