Going Ungracefully

I'll be the old lady in the tight, purple skirt

WiW 12/17-18/09

12/17/09

Thursday

WiW 20091217

WiW December 17, 2009

Click on picture to see a larger version


I stepped out of my comfort zone and paired a brown skirt with a purple turtleneck with a “pumpkin spice” cardigan. Brown tights and my oft-utilized brown suede shooties. I ran out of the house in a panic (as I often do) and I don’t think I remembered to put on any accessories whatsoever. The handbag is one of my great thrift finds.

The photo is too dark to see the colors well. I tried to Photoshop it to improve the contrast, but was unable to do much without really distorting the color and washing out the rest of the photo. I had the same problem with my 12/18 photo. 😦

Y’all convinced me that this color combo worked. There are two uber-fashionistas in my building and I wanted to ask their opinions, but didn’t see either that day.

Shooties: TJ Maxx
Tights: Wal-Mart
Skirt: Part of a Jones New York suit
Turtleneck: Probably TJ or Ross or Kohl’s
Cardi: Target?

Handbag: Thrifted
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

12/18/09
Friday

WiW 20091218

WiW December 18, 2009

Click on picture to see a larger version

This is a tried-and-true outfit. This DVF wrap dress is a basic, classic, black wrap dress that I bought at a consignment shop. I’ve more than gotten my money’s worth out of it, but I will weep desperately when it becomes unwearable. I hope that will be many years from now!

I’m really alarmed at my size in the photos. I look much bigger in a lot of these photos than what I perceive myself to be.  I feel my best when I wear very fitted clothing that leaves very little of my shape to the imagination.  When I wear anything that’s not clingy, I feel like I look lumpy and frumpy.

Boots: My famous $1 boots
tights: Wal-Mart
Dress: Diane Von Furstenberg wrap, thrifted
Jacket: Maroon velvet with a sparkly clasp, thrifted

December 24, 2009 - Posted by | WiW |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

